Fine Wine Partners Trophy – Australia’s Wine of the Year 2013

Australia’s Wine of the Year 2013

Best’s 2011 Bin 1 Great Western Shiraz has been named Australia’s Wine of the Year 2013! Winning the highly prized Fine Wine Partners Trophy. This accolade goes to the wine which has been the star performer at all major Australian wine shows over the preceding twelve months.

Winemaker Justin Purser said: “Best’s are thrilled and honoured to be the recipient of the 2013 Fine Wine Partners Trophy. It is incredible that out of 17,000 wines the 2011 Best’s Bin 1 Shiraz was chosen as the winner. This wine is a great advocate of the Best’s Great Western style and we’re glad the judges got it right.”

Throughout 2012 Best’s Great Western 2011 Bin 1 Shiraz collected a swath of trophies, including the Jimmy Watson Memorial Trophy. Best Red wine of the 2010 and 2011 vintages, Royal Melbourne Wine Show. The 2012 Trevor Mast Trophy, Best Shiraz in show, 2012 Victorian Trophy, Royal Melbourne Wine Show. As well as the Best Victorian table wine, Royal Melbourne Wine Show.

The winning wine is chosen by a panel. Made up of the Chairman of Judges for the 2012 major Australian wine shows. The selection is done following a special tasting at the conclusion of the Macquarie Group Sydney Royal Wine Show in February each year.

The Fine Wine Partners Perpetual Trophy, from Garrard of London. The Crown Jewellers, was established in 1988 to mark the 150th anniversary of Tucker Seabrook.  In 2005 Tucker Seabrook merged with the Lion Nathan Wine Group to form Fine Wine Partners. From then the Trophy became the Fine Wine Partners Perpetual Trophy.

The Trophy is held by the Royal Agricultural Society and a memento is awarded each year to the annual winner.

Past Winners of the Trophy

1988 – Orlando Wines
1989 – Renmano Wines
1990 – Lindemans Wines
1991 – Lindemans Wines
1992 – Lindemans Wines
1993 – Great Western
1994 – Wynns Coonawarra Estate
1995 – B Seppelt and Sons
1996 – C A Henschke & Co
1997 – Penfolds Wines
1998 – Houghton Wines
1999 – Leo Buring Wines
2000 – Rosemount Estate
2001 – Tatachilla Winery
2002 – Wildflower Ridge
2003 – BRL Hardy Limited
2004 – Chateau Reynella
2005 – Tyrrell’s Vineyards
2006 – Peter Lehmann Wines
2007 – Lilydale Estate
2008 – Evans & Tate
2009 – Fosters Group
2010 – Penfolds Wines
2011 – Leo Buring
2012 – Vasse Felix
2013 –  Best’s Great Western

We use cookies to optimize your experience, analyze traffic, and personalize content. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Policy. By using our site without disabling cookies, you consent to our use of them.

Verified by MonsterInsights